Contact   DE | EN
 
 
 

Economical and climate-friendly

Clean Power Net's aim is to expand the potential of fuel cell technology within the markets that serve industry and business – and this will principally be achieved through partnerships between users and manufacturers of fuel cells. The CPN network is paving the way for the widespread, rapid and economical use of this climate-friendly technology in the supply of energy.

The markets

  • Information technology
  • Telecommunications
  • Industrial process automation
  • Industrial control technology
  • Traffic-control systems
  • Supply of energy/distribution system operation

 

In the telecommunications field alone there is enormous potential for using fuel cells to provide secure and uninterruptible power supplies: more than 4.5 million base stations worldwide (2015) with annual growth rates of over 10%. We are currently laying the foundations for the development of this market.

Our main concern at Clean Power Net is the promotion of environmentally friendly and economical fuel cell applications for industry and business. This will enhance the competitiveness of both users and manufacturers of innovative fuel-cell solutions in Germany

 

Alongside renewable energies and energy efficiency, other issues gaining increasing prominence in the German Energy Transition are energy independence and secure power supplies. This is particularly applicable in view of modern society's vulnerability in the event of a prolonged failure of power supplies over a large area and the hazards that could ensue. Fuel cell technology can prove beneficial here by offering secure power supplies for critical infrastructures.

Users and manufacturers of fuel cell technology have therefore joined forces within Clean Power Net in order to pool know-how and exploit synergies from an early stage. This should help the commercial use of fuel cell technology to gain acceptance. In addition, this innovative technology should further expand and advance the competitiveness and economic power of Germany as an industrial base.

We are delighted to be able to support the companies participating in the flagship Clean Power Net project within the framework of the National Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technology Innovation Programme.“

Rainer Bomba
Secretary of State at the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure
(Source: BMVI)

 
 
The Focus of Clean Power Net

Uninterruptible Power Supplies (UPS), Back-Up, Emergency Standby Power Systems

Fail-safe power supplies are nowadays essential in many areas of industry and in society at large, whether it be mobile-phone base stations, hospitals, industrial process control centres, computer centres or secondary technology in transformer stations. UPS systems 'bridge' the outage. Fuel cells offer a persuasive solution here due to their long service lives and the fact that they cover a wide temperature range.

Smart Grids

Energy management systems make it possible to interconnect decentralised power generators into a more efficient overall system. The fuel cell plays an exceptionally important role in such schemes, being a highly efficient supplier of energy with zero emissions.

Non-grid-connected/autonomous power supplies

Connection to an electricity grid is frequently impractical, and it is not economically viable to lay a cable. Mobile-phone base stations in emerging countries, construction-site safety equipment and road-pricing systems are therefore powered via batteries or diesel generators. The fuel cell is the economical and environmentally friendly alternative in such cases.

Virtual power plants

The demand imposed on electricity grids by power fluctuations is increasing with the development of renewable energy sources. Alongside large power stations, a short-term operating reserve can also be provided by integrating small, distributed (but centrally controlled) installations comprising fuel cells powered by renewable fuels, which will operate as emission-free virtual power plants.

Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur Nationales Innovationsprogramm Wasserstoff- und Brennstoffzellentechnologie now

Kontakt   DE | EN
 
 
 

Wirtschaftlich und klimaschonend

Clean Power Net hat das Ziel, das Potenzial der Brennstoffzellen-Technologie in den Märkten für Industrie und Business zu erweitern – vor allem auch durch Kooperationen zwischen Anwendern und Herstellern von Brennstoffzellen. Das Netzwerk ebnet den Weg für den breiten, schnellen und wirtschaftlichen Einsatz dieser klimaschonenden Technologie in der Energieversorgung.

Die Märkte

  • Informationstechnologie
  • Telekommunikation
  • Industrielle Prozessautomatisierung
  • Industrielle Leittechnik
  • Verkehrsleittechnik
  • Energieversorgung/Verteilernetzbetrieb

 

Das Potenzial für Brennstoffzellen in der sicheren und unterbrechungsfreien Stromversorgung ist allein in der Telekommunikation riesig: mehr als 4,5 Millionen Basisstationen weltweit (2015) mit jährlichen Wachstumsraten von über 10 %. Den Grundstein für die Marktvorbereitung, -einführung und -entwicklung legen wir heute.

Unser zentrales Anliegen im Clean Power Net ist die Forcierung von umweltfreundlichen und wirtschaftlichen Brennstoffzellenapplikationen für Industrie und Business. Dadurch steigt die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sowohl bei Anwendern als auch bei Herstellern von innovativen Brennstoffzellenlösungen in Deutschland.

Im Rahmen der Energiewende spielen neben den erneuerbaren Energien und der Energieeffizienz auch die Energieautarkie und die sichere Stromversorgung eine zunehmende Rolle. Dies gilt insbesondere mit Blick auf die Gefährdung und Verletzbarkeit moderner Gesellschaften bei einem großräumigen und langandauernden Ausfall der Stromversorgung. Die Brennstoffzellentechnologie kann hier bei der sicheren Stromversorgung für kritische Infrastrukturen Vorteile bieten.

Im Clean Power Net haben sich daher Anwender und Hersteller der Brennstoffzellentechnologie zusammengeschlossen, um Know-how zu bündeln und Synergien frühzeitig zu nutzen. Dem kommerziellen Einsatz der Brennstoffzellentechnologie soll somit zum Durchbruch verholfen werden. Aber auch die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Wirtschaftskraft des Standortes Deutschland soll mit dieser innovativen Technologie weiter ausgebaut und vorangebracht werden.

Wir freuen uns, die Unternehmen im Leuchtturmprojekt Clean Power Net im Rahmen des Nationalen Innovationsprogramms Wasserstoff- und Brennstoffzellentechnologie unterstützen zu können.“

Staatssekretär Rainer Bomba
Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur
(Quelle: BMVI)

 
 
Der Fokus von Clean Power Net

Unterbrechungsfreie Stromversorgung (USV), Back-up, Netzersatzanlagen (NEA)

Mobilfunk-Basisstationen in der Telekommunikation, Krankenhäuser, Industrieprozess-Leitstellen, Rechenzentren, Sekundärtechnik in Umspannwerken: Eine ausfallsichere Stromversorgung ist heute in vielen Industrie- und Lebensbereichen unerlässlich. Den Störungsfall überbrücken USV-Anlagen. Brennstoffzellen überzeugen hier durch lange Laufzeiten und das Abdecken eines großen Temperaturbereichs.

Smart Grids

Energiemanagement-Systeme erlauben die Vernetzung von dezentralen Stromerzeugern zu einem effizienteren Gesamtsystem. In solchen Konzepten hat die Brennstoffzelle als emissionsfreier Energielieferant mit hohem Wirkungsgrad eine herausragende Bedeutung.

Netzferne, autarke
Stromversorgung

Häufig ist der Anschluss an ein Stromnetz nicht realisierbar, ein Kabel zu verlegen ist unrentabel. Mobilfunk-Basisstationen in Schwellenländern, Baustellenabsicherungen oder Road-Pricing-Systeme werden daher über Batterien oder Diesel-Generatoren mit Strom versorgt. Die Brennstoffzelle ist dann die wirtschaftliche und umweltfreundliche Alternative.

Virtuelle Regelkraftwerke

Die Belastung der Stromnetze durch fluktuierenden Strom steigt durch den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien. Neben großen Kraftwerken kann kurzfristige Regelenergie auch durch den Zusammenschluss von verteilten, aber zentral geregelten, kleinen Anlagen (virtuelle Regelkraftwerke) bereitgestellt werden – mit regenerativ betriebenen Brennstoffzellen als Stromerzeuger sogar emissionsfrei.

Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur Nationales Innovationsprogramm Wasserstoff- und Brennstoffzellentechnologie now